LSAAL 22: The Moroccan Arabic "ġuş": Five Categories

Product no.: ISBN 9783895861895
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

The Moroccan Arabic "ġuş": Five Categories
Nasser Berjaoui
Ibn Tofail University, Kénitra, Morocco

So far, twelve families of the Moroccan Arabic secret languages of the Tafilalet (TSLs), namely the “ġuş”, were investigated in detail in several works. In this book, emphasis is on five other and different categories of the TSLs, namely the x…xawinCa, the x…xaxiCa, the x…xinxaC, the x…xawiC and the x…ŗaC cases, together with their intricate and numerous varieties. A sample of two varieties from each of the families above respectively encode the word “ktab” (a book) as: “wtab wawinka” and “stab sawinka”, “btab babika” and “ptab papika”, “ftab finfak” and “dtab dindak”, “dtab dawik” and “htab hawik”, “stab ŗak” and “vtab ŗak”. This book is organised in the realm of five parts that analyse the encoding operations in the TSLs with reference to several parts of speech and structures.

ISBN 9783895861895. Moroccan Arabic Secret Languages 06. LINCOM Studies in Afroasiatic Linguistics 22. 698pp. 2008.
Browse this category: LINCOM Studies in Afroasiatic Linguistics (LSAAL)